​​Jim Auxer, Mayor of Shepherdstown
Guy Avey, III, Berkeley County Appointee - Treasurer
Mark Baldwin, City of Martinsburg Appointee

James Barnhart, Berkeley County Council Person - Chairman

Wayne Bishop, Mayor of Harpers Ferry
Daryl Cowles, Morgan County Appointee
Helen Dettmer, Mayor of Bolivar

Sandy Hamilton, Berkeley County Appointee

​George Karos, Mayor of Martinsburg

Mary Ann Keller-Pile, Mayor of Hedgesville
Kathy Mason, Berkeley County Appointee

Doug Mattingly, Morgan County Appointee
Neil McLaughlin, Berkeley County Appointee

Scott Merki, Mayor of Bath (Berkeley Springs) - Secretary
Timothy Mose, Mayor of  Paw Paw
Patsy Noland, Jefferson County Commissioner - Vice-President
John Overington, Berkeley County Appointee

Duke Pierson, Mayor of Ranson

Ken Reed, Morgan County Commissioner
Nic Diehl, Jefferson County Appointee
Kenda Rogers, City of Martinsburg Appointee  
Scott Rogers, Mayor of Charles Town
Chris Strovel, Berkeley County Appointee

Full Council Meetings

Region 9 is Designated by:
The Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) as a Local Development District (LDD)
The Economic Development Administration (EDA) as an Economic Development District (EDD)
The Federal Highway Administration and the State of West Virginia as the West Virginia Counterpart for the Hagerstown/Eastern Panhandle Metropolitan Planning Organization (HEPMPO)
The State of West Virginia as a Planning and Development Council (PDC)
 The Bureau of Census as an Affiliate Census Data Center, for statistical and applied research

Who We Are

July 10, 2017


Bolivar Community Center


October 16, 2017


​Blue Ridge CTC Conference Room​​

December 11,2017

​Eastern WV Regional Airport​



February 12, 2018



May 21, 2018




Board Members

The Eastern Panhandle Regional Planning and Development Council (Region 9) is a council, created by the State of West Virginia, comprising of representatives (both elected and appointed) from three counties: Berkeley County, Jefferson County, Morgan County and the municipalities of Berkeley Springs (Bath), Bolivar, Charles Town, Harpers Ferry, Hedgesville, Martinsburg, Paw Paw, Ranson and Shepherdstown.  

Region 9 was organized on June 20, 1972 in response to enabling legislation passed by the West Virginia Legislature and approved by the Governor on November 17, 1971.  This enabling legislation is known as the Regional Planning and Development Act of 1971 and re-enacted Article 25, Chapter 8 of the West Virginia Code.